Back at it.

by gbsmith4

A friend of mine emailed me that he missed my blog.  Trust me, I have too large an ego to ignore even that small bone, so I’m back it.

That begs the question as to what I’ve been doing.  The answer is not much, but it breaks down into  three discrete areas.

1.  I don’t spend a lot of time actually trading, but I spend a fair amount of time thinking about my trading.  That is, forming hypotheses, testing those hypotheses, and subtly tweaking my many approaches to the market.

For me, the market is an ever-changing puzzle, and I’m constantly trying to figure out how it works.  I’m positive I’ll never have a definitive answer, but I do like the challenge.

2.  I have been spending an inordinate time on my tennis.  Lessons, tournaments, regular games, drills, reading up on strategy.  Pretty much the whole gamut.  It bugs me that I never pursued tennis when I was younger, as I’m positive I’d be a highly ranked 55+ player.  On the other hand, I might have burned out on it by now, like I did with golf.

I’m even getting up at 4AM to play some regular guys at 6am.  Crazy.

3.  The rest of my fairly boring life, pretty much fits into the “misc.” category.  If I play tennis at 6AM, I’m back at the house by 7:30.  I do all the standard time killers: email, twitter, Flipboard, etc.  Heck, I’m having “lunch” no later than 10:30, and lately we’ve been eating dinner so early I’m IN BED by 8PM.

All in all, I think I’ve gotten fairly boring in the past few years.  On the other hand, watching “Homeland” each week is about all the excitement I really need.

 

