Missing the old days of the Olympics

by gbsmith4

The Olympics started in earnest today, and I’ve been spending the morning watching tennis, cycling, swimming, and even a bit of the air rifle.  All on-line via my Ipad

I also spent about 10 minutes reviewing the day’s schedule and then 15 minutes setting my DVR to record stuff throughout the day.

Frankly, it’s exhausting.  In fact, there should now be an Olympic sport just for watching the events, never mind participating.

Now, obviously I’m a fan of the games, but I kind of miss the old days of Olympic telecasts.  Young folks might not remember, but there was a time when the only sports you saw were what the network decided to show you from 8 to 11PM.  You loved fencing?  Sorry, you were out of luck.   Skeet shooting?  Uh…no.  Ditto, cycling, judo, canoe, soccer, and the thousand other sports offered today.

In fact, other than track & field, swimming, and gymnastics I really can’t remember seeing any other Olympic sports until about 1988.

On the flip side, though, there weren’t any decisions to make.  If you liked the Olympics, you watched.  If you didn’t, you watched something else.

Now, I need an excel spreadsheet (which the NBC Olympic apps pretty much give you), to figure out when and where I’m going to watch.  And while I appreciate all the choices, I really think it’s too much.

But, naturally I’ll tune in.  China’s squaring off against Malaysia in the mixed doubles badminton this morning.  I don’t want to miss it.

