The evolution of a “watch guy.”

by gbsmith4

For the better part of the last 15 years, I’ve been a “watch guy.”  You know, the kind of man who took pride in having a nice (read: expensive) watch.  I wasn’t particularly proud of this trait, but I did like having something nice on my wrist.

Now “nice” wasn’t something in the 5 figure range.  But, it was a very solid Chopard in the mid 4-digit area.

However, after about 10 years of solid effort, it simply refused to work.  So, I dutifully took it to the nearest “Chopard Service Center”….who then turned around and sent it to Chopard.  So much for customer service.

Four weeks rolled around, and I finally got a call telling me it’d be $490 to fix my watch.

Now in the past, I guess I would have paid that.  Figured it was the price for having something nice.  Kind of like taking Nancy’s old Jaguar in for service, which usually required a small homeowners loan every 6 months.

But, given that we are “on the cheap” like a lot of other people, I politely declined.  Instead, I scouted around and found a perfectly good Timex that was 1/10th the price of the Chopard…repair!

Perhaps in the future, I’ll get the Chopard fixed.  Or maybe not.   For whatever reason, being a “watch guy” doesn’t seem to matter that much any more.

