Best book of the year…so far.

by gbsmith4

If you get a chance, I encourage you to pick up (or, for many, download) “Fooling Houdini: Magicians, Mentalists, Math Geeks, and the Hidden Powers of the Mind.”

Of course, your first thought might be that you have no real interest in magic.  Or Math Geeks, for that matter.  In fact, my own interest was limited, but something about the title caught my eye.

Of course, I’m glad I read the book, although the real takeaway wasn’t the magic part.  That was interesting, but what I really learned was just how hard magicians work at their craft.  Really, I had no appreciation that top magicians practice constantly.  And by “constantly” I mean that many carry a deck of cards around, for example, and practice almost throughout the day.

And that made me think how lazy I am when I’m trying to get good at something.  Sure, I may devote a few hours a day to something like my trading. (Although, now it’s more like a few minutes a day.)  But, in thinking about it, I could do a lot more.

Granted, we all have a lot going on in our lives.  Still, if you want to get really, REALLY good at something, you have to put in the time.

This book revealed that I’m really kidding myself: whether it was golf, or trading, or preparing for TV, I could do a whole lot more.

