Go away Mr. Woods

by gbsmith4

As a reformed ex-golfer — and hardcore at that–  I still get a variety of emails alerting me to the goings on in the golf world.

And I guess it’s no surprise that with Tiger Woods healthy again, almost every tournament preview has “Tiger Woods” somewhere in the headlines.

The most recent is a Golf Channel email I received this morning, talking about Wood’s body language: http://www.golfchannel.com/news/randall-mell/after-augusta-tavistock-tiger-healthy-at-arnold-palmer/.

Now I’ll be the first to admit that when Tiger entered the scene, I was a fan.  I mean how could you not be: he was charismatic, uber-talented, and always delivered in the clutch.

But, then everything unravaled and by all accounts (including the new book: “The Big Miss: My Years Coaching Tiger Woods”) here’s what he is: a self-absorbed, immature, egotistical, jerk.

Now, frankly more than a few famous athletes and celebrities fall into that group.  And I suppose we all know a few folks who have cheated on their spouses or have a big ego.

But Woods seems to fall into a special class where he hits the perfecta on nearly every single category of being a world-class ass.

I’ll be damned, then, if I’m going to root for him.  In fact, I honestly hope he’s a complete flop from here on in.  Plenty of other good guys to root for.

