Idiotic obsessing.

by gbsmith4

For the past few weeks, I’ve been obsessing about, of all things, the saddle height on my bike.  Now, you may find this hard to believe, but there are a number of scientific ways to figure out the exact number — to 3 decimal places no less! — the perfect height.  Think I’m kidding?  Here’s one method:

Also using inseam length as a guide, this formula calculates 88.3% of your inseam length and uses it to measure the distance from the centre of the bottom bracket to the top of the seat height.

Of course, it doesn’t stop there with such procedures as the “Holmes Method” advocating the use of a goniometer for

measuring the angle of the knee joint at the bottom of the pedal stroke. Holmes recommends an angle of between 25 and 35 degrees and closer to 25 for those with a history of patella tendonitis.

Naturally, I’ve been going crazy trying to figure out which method and which measurement will give me the “right” number, and usual, started obsessing about it.  I finally realized I’d gone overboard when I stumbled upon Sheldon Brown’s (noted common sense bike guru) simple advice:

 “I suggest gradually raising your saddle, perhaps half an inch (1 cm) at a time. Each time you raise it, ride the bike. If it doesn’t feel noticeably worse to ride, ride it for at least a couple of miles/km.

If it had been too low before, your bike will feel lighter and faster with the new riding position. If raising the saddle improved things, raise it again, and ride some more. Keep doing this until the saddle is finally too high, then lower it just a bit.”

Ah, there you have it.  Keep raising it until it’s too high, then move it down a bit!  Simple and straightforward.

Anyway, I bring this up because if you’re like me, you tend to do the same damn thing to with trading: you make it WAY too complicated when simple would work a lot better.

In fact, in looking back at the history of my trading, my simple strategies (usually along the lines of buying stock in companies I use and holding them until they go up!) are invariably the most profitable.

So, in 2012 I’m going to obsess a little less and just stick to the simple stuff.  Yes, 25 years of trading and I’m finally discovering simple trumps “smart.”

