25 more years

by gbsmith4

I just looked it up: according to the CDC I have about 25 more years to live.   You know, give or take.

That’s right: I turn 54 in January, and the life expectancy for a white male in the U.S. is 76.2 years.  I’m in good health, and don’t smoke.  But, I have a history of cancer in the family.  So, maybe I’m good for 3 extra years, making it 25 more total.

Now, I don’t mean to get morose, but I have been thinking that I’m at the tail end of the run.  It doesn’t feel like the tail end, but I can’t deny the stats.

So, what’s it all mean?  I guess it means that some of the stuff we’ve been putting off, we really should tackle.  Here’s my (really) short list:

1.  Get serious about selling our house and moving to some place warm.  We have too much room for the 2 of us and I really hate the winter.

2.  Get an RV.  I’m not big on camping.  (Truthfully, I’ve never camped a day in my life.)  On the other hand, it would be nice to attend one of those all-day regattas Nancy’s in and be able to take a mid-day siesta in A/C comfort.  Or, grab a shower.  Or sleep on the way home!

And that’s pretty much it.  I don’t know if that’s good or bad (am I fulfilled, or just someone with a pathetically low list of dreams?), but that’s all I want.

What’s stopping me?  Inertia.  See, I guess the other thing on my “list” is that I don’t want any more complications.  Selling the house?  We’ve moved 4 times.  It’s a huge hassle and it’s only gotten bigger as we’ve accumulated more stuff.

Getting an RV?  Well, that’s not so big a hassle, except for parking it, driving it, furnishing it, and figuring out how to work the propane system.

So, I suppose my summary thought is this: if I didn’t get to anything on my “list” and croaked tomorrow, would I be okay with that?  And the answer is “yes.”

And I think that’s a good thing, right?

